Driving With a Suspended License
Delaware attorneys Rahaim & Saints have a long history of representing clients who have been charged with driving with a suspended license. We understand that the challenges of having to live without reliable transportation often compel people to make rash or reckless decisions — if you have been caught driving without a license in Delaware, we may be able to help you put this incident behind you quickly.
While driving with a suspended license may seem like an open and shut issue, there may be ways to have your sentence reduced or your case thrown out. Representation from a suspended license defense attorney who knows the law around these issues is essential.Free Consultations To Discuss Suspended License Charges
Reasons Your License Can Be Suspended
In Delaware, there are a number of reasons why your driver’s license can be temporarily suspended or revoked. These include:
- Traffic violations: Delaware vehicle licensing works on a point system. Accrue enough points and your license will be temporarily suspended. Some more serious violations include speeding 20 mph or more over the posted speed limit, reckless driving and passing a stopped school bus. Other activities, such as racing, driving under the influence or leaving the scene of an accident, can result in an immediate suspension of your license.
- Unpaid fines: Failing to pay fines issued for traffic violations can also lead to having your license suspended. When your license expires, it will be impossible to get a new one if you have outstanding fines.
- Child support delinquency: One of the lesser-known reasons why someone’s license can be revoked in Delaware is a failure to pay child support. If you owe your former spouse more than $1000, or are more than 30 days delinquent on a payment of any amount, the Family Court or the Division of Child Support Enforcement of Delaware can apply to have your license suspended.
- Expulsion from school: Anyone under the age of 19 who has been expelled from school will have their license suspended for up to two years, or until they are reinstated. Under certain circumstances, a special occupational license can be issued that will grant limited driving privileges.
Do I have a case?
Consequences of Driving With an Expired License
The consequences of driving while suspended can be severe — a first offense carries with it a minimum $500 fine and 30 days imprisonment. Get caught a second time within a period of three years and you’ll face a $1000 fine and a 60 day jail sentence. For first offenders, jail time can be suspended for probation — for repeat offenders, it cannot.
These consequences make clear the need for representation by an experienced driver’s license suspension attorney. If you have been charged with driving while your license is suspended in Delaware, contact Rahaim & Saints. One of our attorneys will meet with you, assess your case and go over the options available to you. We may be able to get the charges dismissed or make an alternate arrangement to avoid harsh penalties.
Your initial consultation with our team is free — call our office in Wilmington or Newark for more information.