Aggressive Driving Defense Lawyer In Delaware
An aggressive driving charge can have long-lasting repercussions that affect your driving records. It can raise your insurance rates and make it difficult to find employment in certain fields. If you have been charged with aggressive driving, you have options for fighting those charges in court. The aggressive driving defense lawyers at Delaware’s Rahaim & Saints can review the charges against you and help you choose the course of action that will protect your best interests, both now and in the future.
Whether you’re a first-time offender or have a history of previous traffic violations, representation from an experienced aggressive driving attorney is often the key to a judgment in your favor.Schedule My Free Consultation
What Is Aggressive Driving?
According to Title 21 of the Delaware Code, driving in an aggressive manner is defined as “continuous conduct which violates three or more” of the following traffic offenses:
- Driving in excess of posted speed limits
- Ignoring or running a traffic control signal, such as a red light or a stop sign
- Passing another vehicle on the road shoulder or making an unsafe lane change
- Failing to yield to traffic or to properly signal when turning
- Passing a school bus, failing to pull over for an ambulance or other emergency vehicle
- Tailgating another vehicle (following too closely)
- Failing to stop when signaled to do so by a police officer
In order to be convicted of aggressive driving, it must be proven that you are guilty of at least three of the above violations within a short amount of time. One of the benefits of working with a seasoned aggressive driving attorney is that they know the law inside and out. They may be able to get your case thrown out on technicality.
Do I have a case?
Consequences of Aggressive Driving
For a first-time offender, the consequences of being convicted of aggressive driving include fines between $100 and $300 — the judge may also order a jail sentence of between 10 and 30 days. The guilty party will also face fines and potential jail time for the other offenses they committed.
If found guilty of a second offense within a period of three years, penalties are even heavier, with a potential for fines between $300 and $1000, and up to 60 days in jail. Each subsequent conviction also results in an automatic 30 days suspension of all driving privileges.
Delaware’s vehicle licensing rules include a point system for offenses. In addition to the legal consequences of aggressive driving, drivers will automatically gain a minimum of six points on their license. They will also be required to complete a remedial driver training program, requiring time off from work and school for which they will not be reimbursed.
Rahaim & Saints May Be Able to Help
The harsh consequences associated with a conviction make it much more important to work with a qualified defense lawyer when facing an aggressive driving charge. In Delaware, Rahaim & Saints has been helping clients for more than 20 years. We may be able to get the charges against you reduced or dropped, so you can maintain your independence and quickly move on with your life. Call our offices in Newark or Wilmington today for more information.