Help From A Lawyer for a 2nd DUI Offense in Delaware
Delaware has a special program for first DUI offenses. The goal of that program is to give individuals a chance to learn from their mistake and avoid future legal issues. However, when a driver receives their second DUI, the state of Delaware is far less forgiving. In fact, this offense carries mandatory jail time, as well as steep fines. Because a 2nd DUI can put your freedom and finances on the line, it's very important to contact a 2nd offense DUI lawyer in Delaware.
No reputable attorney will guarantee that they can get all the penalties associated with this offense dropped. However, because an experienced Delaware 2nd offense DUI lawyer is far more knowledgeable about how this process works than someone who is just dealing with this legal issue for the first time, enlisting an attorney's help will put you in the best possible position.
What Are the Penalties for a 2nd DUI in Delaware?
A 2nd DUI conviction is defined as one that occurs within ten years of the original offense. When this happens in the state of Delaware, the first penalty is sixty days of mandatory jail time. The sentence for this offense can be extended all the way to eighteen months. Because any amount of jail time is enough to put your job in jeopardy, don't wait to get in touch with a 2nd offense DUI lawyer in Delaware.
Fines are the second major penalty for this charge. As with jail time, there is a range for fines. While $750 is generally the lowest amount you will have to pay, the total fines associated with a 2nd DUI can end up as high as $2,500. Having your license revoked is another penalty of a 2nd DUI. A BAC of less than 0.2 can lead to a license being revoked for two years, while a BAC over that level can extend the revocation to thirty months.
Finally, the application of a mandatory ignition interlock device to your car is the final penalty for this crime. Once this device is added to your car, you will have to blow into it every time you want to start your car. If your BAC is above the legal limit, the car won't start. Additionally, most of these devices also take samples at random times while driving. If a test is ever failed, it will be logged and an alarm will go off until the car is stopped.
Since dealing with this charge can be very complicated and have extremely serious consequences, don't wait to get in touch with a Delaware 2nd offense DUI lawyer. You can get in touch with attorney Andrew Rahaim to have a free consultation about the specifics of your 2nd DUI arrest, as well as what options you have going forward.