Drunk Driving DUI/DWI Lawyer In Delaware
Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol is a misdemeanor crime that carries serious potential penalties, including jail time, license suspension and large fines. Whether it is your first DUI or you have a prior drunk driving conviction, your choice of attorney can be the critical factor in avoiding the worst outcomes.
Rahaim & Saints has significant experience in handling the investigation of DUI/DWI charges, including questioning police procedures and preparing defenses for trial. Our Wilmington law firm represents clients of New Castle County and throughout Delaware. Contact us immediately to learn how we can protect your rights.
Schedule My FREE Consultation
Protect Your License After A DUI
From the date of your drunk driving arrest, you have 15 days to request a DMV hearing. Failure to request a hearing results in automatic suspension of your driver’s license. Rahaim & Saints will represent you in this separate administrative proceeding to preserve your license.
First Offense DUI
If convicted at trial, a first DUI can result in jail time and license suspension. Some citizens qualify for Delaware’s First Offenders program in lieu of standing trial. If accepted into this program, your license will be suspended, but you will not serve jail time if you meet terms of probation, including an alcohol assessment and education program.
Second and Subsequent Offenses
- A conviction for a second DUI carries a mandatory jail sentence of 60 days. You will also face license revocation for at least 24 months, fines up to $2,300 and an ignition interlock on your vehicle once your license is reinstated.
- A third offense DUI conviction that occurs at any time during a drivers life is a felony with mandatory prison sentences.
Underage Drinking and Driving
Drivers under the age of 21 with any alcohol in their blood will lose their license for two months for a first offense, and for six to 12 months for a second juvenile DUI offense.
Veteran trial attorney Drew Rahaim has more than 30 years of criminal law experience, and he knows the local courts and the state laws. He can help you determine if you are eligible for the First Offenders program. He can also help you decide whether to negotiate a plea agreement or to take your case to a jury. He has had success in challenging drinking and driving cases on the basis of traffic stops, field sobriety tests, Breathalyzer tests, dash-mounted videotape and other evidence that points to police errors or violations of clients’ rights.
Contact a Drunk Driving Defense Attorney
If you are arrested for a Delaware drunk driving charge, contact us for a free initial consultation. Call our Wilmington office (302-892-9200) and Newark office (302-832-1800). You may also contact Delaware DUI Defense Lawyer Andrew Rahaim now.